Monday, August 24, 2009

Cool story!

This is not a good picture because it was taken through a trophy window. There is a great story behind this though, so I have to share it with you!
The Loening trophy is presented annually to the outstanding all-around collegiate aviation program in the nation. Dr. Loening, the first aeronautical engineer for the Wright brothers, asked Charles Lindbergh and Amelia Earhart to judge the first competition. This original trophy is still awarded today and is considered the most prestigious of awards at the annual SAFECON competition. It represents the benchmark for the most outstanding collegiate program.
This year LeTourneau competed at SAFECON against 28 teams and they won - against schools such as Embry Riddle, The U.S. Air Force Academy and Kent State University (Tim's alma mater)!
The actual trophy is kept at the Seattle Museum of Flight. LeTourneau was given a take-home trophy.
So, that means that LeTourneau is currently #1 in the U.S. for collegiate flight schools!

No comments: